How to donate to the board server fund

Photo
- - - - -

Something different - an investment opportunity for those who know me.

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 frostfire

frostfire

Elite Poster

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2682 posts
  • Thailand

Posted 27 September 2018 - 10:06 PM

This is not exactly board business, but I figure it was the best place for this. 

Most of you know I am a software developer. I have a "day job"  as lead developer for a very popular piece of SEO software. Over the last several years it has been dropping in popularity as the market shifted, as markets do, and my work has gone from 200 hours per month, to around 50 (lol). In my downtime I have been working on a side project that I have been working on now for the last 7 years off and on. The project has a lot of sordid history regarding one of my previous clients that many of you have heard me rant about on various bar crawls. 

The short version of that story is that this client owes me a whole lot of money, and years of promises have amounted to nothing. Nevertheless about 7 years ago I started working on the "next generation" of his business software, as his promises always included funding for that next version... and I had nothing better to do, so I worked on it. And it helped that he was/is a damn good salesman. He did not know I was working on it, and my intention at the time was to just pay for it as the money was available... which of course never happened. 

9 months ago now I had to shut him down completely for non-payment of his server fees, and despite the last 9 months of promises of a catchup payment, none has come. His employees are unpaid for over a year and no longer willing to work with him, and among all his other issues, he is well in to his 70s and shows no inclination to try to pick things back up.